Rate this post

Delicious vegan cheese prepared with carrot, seaweed, coconut oil, and agar. Plant-based cheese that is simple and nut-free. You can find the recipe here.

Looking for a plant-based, healthful recipe? Vegan cheese is a dairy-free and nut-free substitute to cheddar created from components such as seaweed, carrots, and agar. It’s not only tasty, but it’s also healthy. The cheesy taste is provided by nutritional yeast, while the creamy creaminess is provided by coconut oil.

Even folks who do not follow a vegan diet will like our vegan cheese! This recipe may be used to create anything from pizza to macaroni and cheese, or it can just be served as an appetizer with crackers. When you have this dairy-free option at your disposal, the possibilities are unlimited!

The advantage of creating something yourself is that you will know precisely what ingredients were used. As a vegan, it’s also a terrific method to confirm that all of the components are really devoid of animal products. Vegan cheese has less saturated fat and cholesterol than traditional dairy cheese.

Making your own vegan cheese is also a great method to avoid lactose intolerance while still enjoying the flavor of cheese. Vegan cheese replacements, such as soy-based cheese, have lower FODMAP carbs. It is also beneficial if you suffer from irritable bowel syndrome, which is often caused by dairy products.

Making your own cheese is an excellent idea since you’ll know it’s fresh. It also tastes great. Making your own is also lot less expensive than buying. One advantage of creating it yourself is that it is simple to manufacture, so you shouldn’t have too much problem.

Expert Tips

You may make the substitution with potatoes, and any kind should suffice. It also makes it easier to utilize extra virgin oil, but if you don’t have any, just about any oil will suffice. Oil is not required. You may skip it and replace it with water or milk, whichever you want. You may also increase the spiciness by adding cayenne pepper.

You may also produce the cheese replacement with any temperature water. You will be OK whether it is chilly or hot. It also helps to measure the yeast using a measuring cup to guarantee precise quantities. Nutritional yeast may not always be available. In this scenario, you may use equal parts brewer’s yeast. This is when it is critical to weigh the yeast before using it.

Make careful to regularly swirl the cheese while it’s cooking. If you want to make it more cheesy, add extra nutritional yeast to the mix. Spray the molding container with oil to prevent it from adhering to the mold you’re placing it in.

Serving Ideas

Vegan cheese may be served as an appetizer, with celery, carrot sticks, or crackers for dipping. It may be used in typical cheese-required dishes, such as macaroni and cheese. Vegan cheese may also be served with bread rolls, veggie sticks, or crackers.

It’s a replacement since it may be used in any dish that calls for cheese, including pizza, dips, sauces, and sandwiches. This will be determined by the manner in which it is served. Melted cheese is required for a dip, while slices or cubes of solid cheese are used in a sandwich or salad.



We can keep this dish nut-free by using tofu. Firm tofu produces the thick batter required for dairy-free cheese. If you choose medium or soft, you will need to greatly decrease the liquid before allowing it to set.

Coconut milk

Coconut milk works nicely since it is heavy in fat and produces a creamy finish. Cashew milk and soy milk are two more dairy-free milk alternatives to explore.

Agar-agar powder

A half-cup of water and two teaspoons of agar-agar powder are also required. This powder will harden up the cheese enough to cut through. Because it is a vegan equivalent, it works well in vegan dishes. It is available as a powder or as flakes. If you can’t obtain agar powder, you may use Kappa carrageenan in equal parts.

Its strong umami flavor makes it taste similar to cheese, and as such, it is an essential element. Nutritional yeast is required to provide the cheese-like flavor. To flavor the cheese, you’ll also need salt and lemon juice. Lemon juice may easily be substituted with vinegar to get the same powerful, acidic taste. One of the properties of dairy cheese is its ability to melt and stretch. To ensure that your alternative has this property, use tapioca starch. You might like [Topping Ideas & Dairy-Free Cheese] 17 Best Vegan Pizza Recipes


Vegan cheese may be kept in the fridge for up to 5 days. You may also store it in the freezer for 3 to 4 months. However, it is critical that you maintain it in a well sealed and airtight container. Glass is frequently the finest container material since it does not affect the tastes.

Vegan Cheese (Nut-Free)

Perfect homemade vegan cheese made with carrot, seaweed, coconut oil, and agar. Simple and nut-free plant-based cheese for all occasions.
5 from 1 vote
Prep Time 10mins
Cook Time 20mins
Resting 2hrs
Total Time 2hrs30mins
Course Appetizer, Side Dish
Cuisine Vegan, Vegetarian
Servings 4


  • blender
  • saucepan
  • round or square cheese mold


  • 1cupcoconut milk
  • cupnutritional yeast
  • 8ozfirm tofupressed
  • cuppumpkin pure
  • cupdried seaweed
  • 1carrotfinely grated
  • cupwater
  • 1lemonjuice of
  • 2tbspagar-agar powder
  • cuptapioca starch
  • salt


  • Blend till smooth firm tofu, nutritional yeast, pumpkin puree, carrot, fried seaweed, water, and coconut milk.
  • Combine the salt, lemon juice, agar-agar powder, and tapioca starch in a mixing bowl. Blend until completely smooth.
  • Melt butter in a large pot over medium heat. Scrape any resistant cheese mixture from the blender into the pan.
  • Warm the cheese mixture, stirring constantly, until it begins to cling together. The liquid should begin to thicken and stretch.
  • Pour the mixture into a mold, cover, and place in the refrigerator. Allow it cool and set for at least 2 hours, preferably overnight.
  • When the cheese is done, it should be firm to the touch. It’s best served sliced, shredded, or grated.


Does all vegan cheese have nuts?

Vegan cheese is often prepared from soy, almonds, vegetable oils, and a variety of other natural ingredients such as peas or arrowroot. Some consider vegan cheese to be a healthier alternative to cheese, and its decreased fat content may lessen your risk of heart disease.

Does dairy free cheese have nuts?

Instead of milk, the foundation of vegan cheese is usually some kind of nut, such as cashews or coconuts. It then goes through a fermentation process to produce a ‘cheese’-like product.

What is vegan nut free cheese made of?

Begin by making your own vegan mozzarella. Tofu (or the above-mentioned replacements), nondairy milk, garlic, onion, lemon, salt, and tapioca starch are all you need to make cheese!

Is Violife cheese nut free?

Violife is well-known for its dairy-free, nut-free, gluten-free, GMO-free, nut-free, soy-free, and cholesterol-free goods.

Is Daiya vegan cheese nut free?

Daiya is a delectable plant-based alternative that is suitable for a wide range of dietary constraints. It has the appearance, texture, and taste of genuine cheese, but it is free of numerous common allergies, including soy, dairy (casein, whey, and lactose), gluten, eggs, peanuts, and tree nuts (excluding coconut).

Are vegans nut free?

Many vegan whole meals are naturally devoid of nuts. Fruits and vegetables; grains such as rice, pasta, quinoa, and oats; protein-rich legumes such as beans and lentils; and delectable mainstays like as tofu, tempeh, and seitan, which are often processed in nut allergy-friendly facilities.

Is Laughing Cow cheese nut free?

There are no peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, wheat, fish, or shellfish in the facility where The Laughing Cow® spreadable cheese wedges are manufactured.

Are any cheeses made with nuts?

Cashews, which yield the creamiest cheeses, are often used to make nut cheese, as are almonds, pistachios, and macadamia nuts, as well as the aforementioned sunflower and pumpkin seeds.

What nuts are in vegan cheese?

The majority of vegan cheeses are created from cashews, which have a high fat content that contributes to a thick texture that resembles dairy products.

What is the difference between vegan cheese and plant-based cheese?

Vegan cheese, also known as dairy-free cheese or plant-based cheese, is a foodstuff that has some of the features of cheese. These include its texture, taste, and, to a lesser degree, melting ability, despite the fact that vegan cheese is prepared without the use of any animal-based components.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *