Rate this post

Is dim sum free of gluten? What about other forms of Chinese food? Are they also gluten-free? If you enjoy Chinese cuisine and are starting a gluten-free diet, you probably want to know what kinds of Chinese food you can eat safely and which you can’t. This essay will mostly concentrate on dim sum. But, we will also look at different forms of Chinese cuisine and how to avoid gluten while eating them.

Hey there! This site is reader-supported and I earn commissions if you purchase products from retailers after clicking on a link from this site.

Now, without further ado, let’s get started with today’s subject.

Dim Sum Gluten Free?

In general, dim sum cannot be termed gluten-free. Nonetheless, some forms of dim sum may be.

Dim sum refers to a form of Chinese cuisine served in tiny servings, sometimes with tea. It is a diverse selection of meals that are often consumed during brunch.

Despite the word dim sum refers to a range of cuisines, many of the dim sum components remain pretty similar. These charming dinners are often served with seafood, meats, veggies, dumplings, wraps, and rice noodle rolls. Desserts, soups, and other accompaniments such as steamed vegetables may also be provided, frequently at the same time as the rest of the meals since dim sum is not often consumed in a certain order.

With all of this in mind, it is easy to understand how the boundaries might get blurred while hunting for gluten-free dim sum. Since there are an unlimited variety of dim sum meals available in today’s contemporary restaurants, it’s almost difficult to say definitively whether or not dim sum is gluten-free.

All we can tell is that you should use care while eating these famous Chinese dishes. These are some of the reasons:

Suspect Ingredients

While eating dim sum, keep in mind that many of the dishes may or may not include wheat-containing components. We’ll go over those elements in further depth in the next section of this essay. For the time being, the most worrisome gluten-free dim sum components are soy, dumplings, wheat wrappers, and wheat noodles.

Examine the ingredients of the foods you select to consume. And if you’re not sure what you’re eating, don’t risk it.

Variation of Recipes

Since there are so many different types of little meals that may be offered for dim sum, it may be difficult for you to determine what is in each dish. It would be difficult to confirm that it is safe to ingest for your diet and health.

Check with the waiter and convey your concerns if possible. Check if they can bring you a gluten-free dim sum meal.

If they are unable (which is possible since even soy sauce contains gluten), you may have to forego your dim sum and eat something different.

Unknown Ingredients

Unknown components come with recipe modification, particularly when taste-testing.

To minimize surprises, we suggest that you only consume dim sum dishes that you are acquainted with and are certain are gluten-free.

Dim sum may include the following gluten-free ingredients:

  • dumplings made with taro
  • Taro dessert
  • soy pudding
  • sticky rice parcels
  • simple rice
  • Noodles made from rice.

Tamari soy sauce and other gluten-free ingredients are also available.

We don’t advocate taking any chances unless you know your dim sum is produced using gluten-free ingredients.


Apart from understanding what’s in your dim sum, you should also be concerned about how it was made.

Cross-contamination occurs when gluten from wheat-containing goods enters a gluten-free meal. This may occur in any location or restaurant, unless the establishment goes out of its way to prevent it. Although many restaurants are becoming more knowledgeable about gluten-free cuisine and cross-contamination prevention, not all eateries follow these recommendations.

Even even gluten-free dim sum might have dangers if the restaurant or location where you are eating the dim sum is not taking the necessary procedures to keep your meal safe.

Gluten Free Chinese Food Guide

Now that you have a better understanding of why dim sum may not be the ideal choice for gluten-free persons, it is time to turn our attention to Chinese cuisine in general.

If you have gluten sensitivity or have been diagnosed with Celiac Disease, it is probable that eating out in unexpected areas causes you worry.

While dining in Asian restaurants, you need not only be mindful of what is in your food, but you should also ensure that communication channels are open. If the staff is unable to comprehend your requirements or if you are unable to understand the staff, it may be preferable to seek assistance or to refrain from dining at the establishment. For people with Celiac Disease or high sensitivity, it is critical that your server be aware of and understands your dietary requirements in order for you to protect your health.

After contact is established, you should be persistent in learning more about what is in your food. In addition, how your Chinese cuisine is cooked.

Let’s go through some of the items to look out for when ordering Chinese cuisine if you’re gluten-free:

The Sauce

Several Chinese restaurants provide meals with delectable and tasty sweet and umami-flavored sauces on top of meat, vegetables, wraps, and dumplings.

Although being an Asian staple, many of these wonderful sauces are thickened with flour.

Because of this, you should exercise caution while drinking sauces from any restaurant, particularly if the sauce seems thick. It’s possible that the sauce was thickened with flour.

The Soy

You may already be aware of this. Yet, if you do not, your typical soy sauce may include wheat. Although there are various soy sauce solutions available for persons with Celiac Disease or gluten allergies, they aren’t often utilized in the normal Chinese restaurant.

As a result, since most meals in Chinese restaurants include soy sauce, you must be careful to either avoid items containing soy or request that no soy sauce be added to your food.

Nevertheless, keep in mind that not all people with gluten sensitivity respond poorly to soy sauce. Hence, when it comes to this specific condiment, it is possible that one individual responds differently to soy than the other.

The Dumplings (and Wrappings)

This should come as no surprise, but the dumplings and wrappers on dim sum and other Chinese cuisine products are huge gluten-free offenders.

These wrappings and dumpling shells often contain flour with additional components, making them a no-no.

You may be able to locate certain dim sum recipes that employ gluten-free wrappers (such as rice and taro wraps), but don’t count on it.

To prevent swallowing gluten that may make you unwell, always ask whomever is serving your food about the contents ahead of time.

The Breading

Last but not least, while eating dim sum, keep an eye out for breading on items.

The breading will almost always be composed of flour. Yet, in rare situations, you can get fortunate and discover that the breading is comprised of cornstarch (which is considered gluten-free).

In the case, you should be aware that fried and breaded gluten-free Chinese cuisine is often prepared in the same oil or pan as gluten-containing dishes. This means that gluten exposure is still a possibility.

Gluten Free Chinese Food Recipes: Gluten Free Stir Fry

Concerned about how in-person eating may influence your gluten-free diet? Why not try your hand at making your own Asian food at home?

When you can’t eat out, try this wonderful gluten-free stir fry dish to fulfill your yearning for Chinese cuisine.



  • 1 cup of chicken broth
  • 1 cup soy sauce (gluten-free) (try San-J Tamari Soy Sauce)
  • three tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon powdered ginger
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes (optional, or a sweet chili sauce substitute)

Meat and Veggies

  • 1 pound boneless skinless chicken thighs, cut into 1-inch strips or cubes
  • season with salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 2 cups florets broccoli
  • 1 red bell pepper, peeled and sliced into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 onion, peeled and sliced into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 cup shredded or thinly sliced carrots
  • 2 teaspoon minced garlic


Making Gluten-Free Chinese Stir Fry

Make sauce

Set aside all of the sauce ingredients in a small mixing dish or measuring cup.

Season chicken

Before heating a big pan over medium-high heat, season the chicken with salt and pepper. Heat the oil in a pan over medium-high heat.

Cook chicken

When the pan is heated, add the chicken and cook until it is thoroughly cooked through. When completed, transfer the chicken to a clean platter and put it aside.

Add and cook veggies

Add extra oil to the same pan and throw in your stir-fry veggies. Sauté for approximately 5 minutes, or until the veggies begin to soften. Cook for another minute after adding the garlic.

Put together

Return the chicken to the pan and cover with the reserved sauce. Bring the mixture to a boil, then turn off the heat. Let your stir fry to cook in the sauce until aromatic and thickened.


Serve over rice. Enjoy!

Is Dim Sum Gluten Free? Not Exactly…

So, does dim sum include gluten? Not quite. Despite certain varieties of dim sum may be gluten-free, the majority are not.

Not only will many dim sum meals include wheat in their components, but many dim sums will be contaminated with gluten due to cross-contamination with other dim sum delicacies.

Unless you are fortunate enough to come across a Chinese restaurant that is really informed and thorough about offering gluten-free dishes, your best choice may be to skip dim sum entirely. Make your favorite Chinese cuisine at home in the comfort (and safety) of your own kitchen.

Another gluten-free recipe you may want to try is Jiyu Tang Soup. More about Chinese food may be found in our article Hunan Pork versus Szechuan Pork.

We hope you found this information useful. We’ll see you soon!


Are Dim Sums gluten-free?

It is possible to get gluten-free dim sum, however due to the variables discussed in this article, we do not advocate eating dim sum without knowing precisely what is in it and how it was made if you are gluten sensitive.

Is Dim Sum made of flour?

Certain dim sum dishes are created using flour. Recall that soy includes wheat and is a common component in most Asian dishes.

Are dumplings typically gluten-free?

Dumplings are not usually gluten-free. They are often produced from wheat flour and should be avoided by persons who have Celiac Disease or are gluten sensitive.

What dishes are gluten-free at Chinese?

Rice noodles, fried rice, brown rice, white rice, steaming meat, and vegetables are all gluten-free options. Many sauces, however, may contain gluten. Several Asian restaurants accommodate gluten-free customers by serving at least one or two gluten-free meals, so be sure to inform your waiter if you need these alternatives.


What can you eat at dim sum gluten-free?

Steamed buns, dumplings, and spring rolls are among the most popular gluten-free dim sum items. These recipes are often cooked using gluten-free rice flour or tapioca flour.

What Chinese dishes are naturally gluten-free?

Shrimp or Seafood: Usually steamed with chicken, shrimp, or seafood.
Soup with Egg Drops: Condiments and beaten eggs in boiling chicken broth (pepper, scallions)
Fried rice consists of white rice, an egg, scallions, carrots, and often beef, pig, or tofu.
More to come…
Gluten-Free Chinese Restaurant.
Chicken Steamed

Do dim sims have gluten?

Dim Sum Original 30 Pack 1.8kg – Gluten Free Foods from Asian Concepts.

Do Chinese dumplings have gluten?

Dumplings (particularly Chinese dumplings) are often wrapped in a wheat dough. Be careful if you are gluten-free; the dough used to make crystal shrimp dumplings (har gow) includes wheat starch in addition to tapioca flour. Wheat starch is occasionally added to the batter used to produce rice noodle rolls (cheong fun).

Can gluten-free people eat dim sum?

Yeah, it’s not only the dim sum wrappers that contain gluten. Soy sauce is one of the most infamous substances. Gluten may also be used as a thickening agent, in buns, or as a filler in any dish. Dim sum meals often use wheat noodles.

How do you eat gluten-free at dim sum?

Gluten-free dim sum comes in a variety of forms, including steamed buns, dumplings, and rolls. These dim sum are often cooked using gluten-free rice flour or tapioca flour. If you are uncertain, many Chinese restaurants will offer a separate menu for gluten-free items, so be sure to inquire.

What Chinese noodle dishes are gluten-free?

Shirataki of buckwheat vermicelli (naeng myun).
Noodles made from kelp.
Rice sticks made with sweet potato vermicelli (dang myun).
Vermicelli made from rice.
Aug 28, 2022

Can celiacs have Chinese takeaway?

Several components in Chinese takeout are unsafe for those with celiac disease. It is critical to choose a restaurant that serves specific gluten-free food and is wary of cross contamination.

Do Chinese have a gluten intolerance?

If you are of Asian origin, your risk of gluten digesting difficulties is no greater than that of any other race. While Caucasians have the greatest prevalence of celiac disease, persons of any ethnicity, including Asians, might struggle to digest gluten.

Is there flour in dim sum?

The dough is normally comprised of wheat flour, water, and oil, and the contents are often baked before being wrapped in the dough. Dim sum dumplings are usually steamed or fried and served with dipping sauces.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *