Rate this post

whether you’re wondering whether sour cream is gluten free, look no further. It’s most likely because you’ve opted to become gluten-free. I know how tough it can be to stick to a gluten-free diet, particularly if you’re new to the scene. But don’t be concerned. I’ve got all the information you need to figure out which sour creams are gluten free, as well as what to look for when figuring out which other condiments include wheat gluten.

Hey there! This site is reader-supported and I earn commissions if you purchase products from retailers after clicking on a link from this site.

What Is Sour Cream?

First and first, let’s define sour cream and what it’s typically constituted of.

Sour cream (not to be confused with buttermilk) is created by combining cream with lactic-acid-producing bacteria, resulting in a pleasantly thick, sour, and rich creamy substance. It is typically white in color and is used in everything from tacos to dessert dishes.

Sour cream is simple to make at home (see our recipe below), but it is often available in shops.

Buy on Amazon

What Is Sour Cream Made of?

Whole milk, an acid (lemon juice or distilled white vinegar), and cream are the main components of pure sour cream. Only a few sour cream components provide a delightful tangy taste that most of us can’t get enough of.

However, as previously said, there are several varieties of sour cream available in stores. Though pure sour cream may easily be classified as gluten free, depending on the sour cream brand, it may contain hidden gluten.

To be sure, in addition to checking the expiry date on a regular basis, you should always check the label to guarantee gluten free sour cream safe consumption. Although individuals who avoid gluten do not have much to worry about when it comes to eating sour cream, it is always recommended to read the label on all sour cream products to be sure.

What Brand of Sour Cream Is Gluten-Free?

There are several gluten-free sour cream brands available. Before we go into some of the more popular ones, keep in mind that just because an original sour cream label does not include the word gluten free does not imply it isn’t. In fact, most sour cream manufacturers will not state that they are gluten free since it is presumed.

Nonetheless, several companies have gone to considerable efforts to guarantee that their sour cream products are suitable for a gluten-free environment. That being stated, the following are some of the most popular sour creams that are gluten-free or gluten-intolerant.

What Brands of Sour Cream Are Gluten-Free?

As promised, I’ve gathered a list of the most common kinds and brands of sour cream to see whether they’re gluten free. These are some examples:

  • Trader Joes Sour Cream
  • Kirkland Sour Cream (Costco)
  • Nancys Organic
  • Organic Valley
  • Tofutti (vegan)
  • Kemps
  • Kite Hill
  • 365 Sour Cream (Whole Foods)
  • O Organics Sour Cream (Nob Hill)
  • Cabot
  • Clover
  • Darigold
  • Daisy
  • Friendship Dairies

Is Daisy Brand Sour Cream Gluten-Free?

Daisy brand sour cream has no gluten. Daisy is gluten free, even though it isn’t always indicated on the label.

Is Great Value Sour Cream Gluten Free?

According to Walmart, Great Value full fat sour cream is gluten free, thus it may easily be included into a gluten free healthy diet. Cheers!

Is Chipotle Sour Cream Gluten-Free?

Looking through Chipotle’s allergy menu, it seems that sour cream is only labeled as a dairy product, not as a gluten-containing food. As a result, we can confirm that Chipotle sour cream is gluten free!

Is Kroger Sour Cream Gluten Free?

whether you have Celiac disease, it’s natural to question whether Kroger brand sour cream is gluten free. What is the conclusion? It is! Kroger sour cream is safe to consume even if you have severe gluten allergy.

Is Breakstone Sour Cream Gluten Free?

Yes, Breakstone sour cream is gluten free, as well as soy free, corn free, and artificial ingredient free. Score!

Is Knudsen Sour Cream Gluten Free?

Yes, Knudsen sour cream has no gluten. There are no gluten components on the ingredients list that we can see.

Is Forager Sour Cream Gluten Free?

Despite being a dairy-free sour cream substitute, Forager sour cream is suitable for a gluten-free diet. It even has living, vibrant civilizations!

Is Hood Sour Cream Gluten Free?

Yes. Hood sour cream, thankfully, does not contain gluten.

Is All Sour Cream Gluten Free?

When it comes to genuine sour cream, you’ll probably be hard-pressed to locate any that includes gluten. This is due to the fact that sour cream is naturally created from gluten-free components. Nonetheless, reading the label is usually a good idea. Some less expensive types may use gluten to assist thicken the mixture. However, this is quite unusual.

That being said, it is crucial to know that if you come across anything that includes sour cream (for example, sour cream and onion chips), you should not assume the chips are gluten free. The sour cream is probably there to assist generate a sour taste, but since it isn’t the sole component in the chips, gluten may be included.

This applies to any meal that incorporates sour cream. To be sure, double-check the label’s information.

Where Can You Find Gluten-Free Sour Cream?

Almost all sour cream is gluten free. As a result, gluten-free sour cream may be found almost wherever that sells dairy products.

To be more particular, check out your local market or supermarket. Sour cream is often available at supermarkets such as Walmart, Kroger, and Target. If you eliminate both dairy and gluten, you can even buy dairy-free sour cream in rare situations.

Why Is Sour Cream Not Gluten-Free?

Keep in mind that most sour cream is gluten free. We say most because you can never be sure that one or two firms would not attempt to sneak a little of gluten into the mix for their own purposes. Sour cream, on the other hand, is virtually always gluten free.

Just keep in mind that if your sour cream is blended with something else or is one of many components in a certain food product, you must carefully read the label to verify that no gluten is present.

Gluten Free Sour Cream Recipe

If you’re still concerned about store-bought sour cream having gluten, you might make your own instead. Gluten-free meals may be difficult to find, and people with Celiac Disease have a right to be especially cautious about what they put into their bodies.

Rather of exhaustively researching sour cream manufacturers, I propose making a batch at home. It’s simple! Simply follow the easy instructions below to come that much closer to delicious sour cream right in your own house!

Homemade Gluten Free Sour Cream Recipe

  • 1 cup (8oz) heavy whipping cream
  • 2 teaspoon lemon juice (or white vinegar)
  • cup (2oz) dairy milk


In a mason jar, combine the heavy whipping cream and the acid (lemon juice and vinegar). After that, add your milk.

After you’ve added the milk, tighten the cover on your mason jar. For 10-20 seconds, aggressively shake the container.

Remove the cover after shaking the mixture. Place a clean piece of paper towel on top of the lid. Secure the paper towel to the glass jar with a rubber band.

Allow the sour cream to rest overnight on the counter.

After 24 hours, you should see that your sour cream has firmed up. Stir it one more and replace the standard lid.

Keep it in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

Please keep in mind that homemade sour cream may be thinner than store-bought sour cream. This is completely typical! It may also aid in dessert dishes since it isn’t as thick.


Is Sour Cream Gluten Free? Most Times, Yes!

Sour cream is gluten-free in most circumstances. The components are often ordinary or cultured cream with a range of other substances. Whether you’re eating basic sour cream or Mexican style sour cream, make sure the ingredients aren’t a surprise.

Not a fan of reading labels? Simply make your own at home! Use the recipe above to make your own gluten-free sour cream for anytime you need it!

I hope this answers your query, “Is sour cream gluten free?” See you again soon!


Is sour cream vegan?

No, traditional sour cream isnt considered vegan.

Is Lays Sour Cream and Onion chips gluten free?

Yes. Lays claims that the sour cream and onion chips are gluten free.

Is Ruffles Cheddar and Sour Cream gluten free?

Yes. Ruffles Cheddar and Sour Cream chips have no gluten-containing ingredients.

Is sour cream dairy free?

Sour cream, in most situations, contains dairy. However, there are several varieties that are both dairy and gluten free! However, this is not always the case.


Does Daisy sour cream contain gluten?

Are Daisy goods gluten-free? Daisy goods are all gluten-free.

Is there gluten in cheese or sour cream?

Gluten-free foods include yogurt, kefir, sour cream, and cream cheese.

Does mayo or sour cream have gluten?

Mustard seed or other spices may be used. Mayo products with a gluten-free label have undergone extensive testing and are safe to consume for those with celiac disease.Mayonnaise or “mayo” is often produced using gluten-free components such as eggs, oil, vinegar, lemon, and occasionally mustard.

Is there a gluten-free substitute for sour cream?

Kroger Simple Truth OrganicTM Gluten Free Non-Dairy Sour Cream, 14 oz.

Can celiacs eat Hellman’s mayonnaise?

Yes. Hellmann’s goods are manufactured using components that are naturally gluten-free. Many of our products, including our Real Mayonnaise and Hellmann’s Vegan and Organic, have a gluten-free label.

Is Philadelphia sour cream gluten free?

Is gluten present in Philadelphia? Although Philadelphia does not contain gluten, the breadsticks and crackers in our snack line do.

What mayonnaise is gluten-free?

Hellmann’s Real Mayonnaise is naturally gluten free since it has no artificial colors or flavors. It also has no MSG added to it. For cooks like Shaw, having a gluten-free product with a homemade flavor like Hellmann’s on hand makes things much simpler.

Does ketchup have gluten?

Ketchup has no wheat, barley, or rye. As a result, it is naturally gluten-free. Some companies, however, may utilize wheat-derived vinegar or make their ketchup at a facility that also produces gluten-containing items, which may contaminate it.

Does mustard have gluten?

Mustard is gluten-free since it is a plant. Mustard seeds may be crushed into a gluten-free powder, flour, or oil. Some mustard products may use wheat flour as a thickening or bulking ingredient. If this is the case, it must be stated individually on the ingredients list.

Can gluten-free people eat sour cream?

Is sour cream free of gluten? Yes, most sour cream brands are inherently gluten-free. As previously stated, the major three constituents in sour cream are gluten-free. This makes the zesty condiment suitable for individuals suffering from Celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *